Works in Progress

I have this dream in my head, a dream of myself as a well-established jewelry artist.  Totally prepared for each season and trend that comes along.  Planning in advance and not scrambling to make my ideas a reality in time for them to fit in with the season or current themes.

I think it’s a wild pipe-dream, but a girl needs to dream right?

Right now I’m juggling putting together three lines of jewelry, being sick, and moving.  Yes, I’m insane. 😛  Working hard to remind myself that it’s ok if I don’t reach all of my goals due to my health problems.  I’ve certainly had a lot of set backs due to them recently!

Speaking of which, thank you so much for all the encouragement and support from everyone who commented on my last blog post or who’s been talking to me in the forums.  You guys are wonderful and I don’t know what I’d do with out you!

Now, back to the jewelry…

The Colors of Fall

Yup, that’s what I’m calling my “Fall line.”  I feel rather silly calling it a line, but that’s the term jewerly artists tend to use and since it is a set of jewelry with a common theme…that being the colors…I decided I’ll call it my fall line and just feel silly while I say it 😛

Some of the pieces you’ll find are simply items I already had in my shop that are appropriate to the time and season.  Like this Wise Old Owl Necklace that I have:

I am also working on adding new pieces though!  My recent increase in health problems has made that harder, but here’s one of the new pieces!

As with any project, there have been set backs with this one.  I was planning on putting this line up two weeks ago and I can’t even begin to catalog the problems I ran into with finishing up pieces!  I have one piece I made that I love, but due to apparently needing smaller needles I had two beads break.  I’ve decided to tear it apart and remake it before I list it, but I have to get new needles before I can do that.  Here’s a sneak preview of it though 🙂

If anyone’s interested in pre-ordering it just request a custom item and tell me you’d like my FIRE necklace!

Looking Forward:

We’re only a week and a half from October!  October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month and I’ve decided I wanted to do what I can to support this cause.  To that end I’m working on a line of jewelry that I will start posting up next week hopefully, and I will be carrying a special section in my shop.

I’m really excited about my pink ribbon bracelet that I’m weaving!  Here’s a sneak peak:

I’m having a lot of fun with it 🙂 I’m adapting it from a cross-stitch pattern I found on-line and using pink thread which shows through the white beads a little to add to it’s over all pinkness 🙂  Only problem: I need smaller needles because the one’s I have keep breaking beads.  So, until I get to the store, I have to put this on hold.  I’m hoping to get to the store in the next day or two though so I can have this piece done in time!

During the month of October any item sold from my Breast Cancer Awareness Section will have 25% of the proceeds donated to the Susan G. Koman Fund, and any other sales made will result in a 10% donation of the proceeds.  I’ll keep you updated on how much that comes too!

4 responses to “Works in Progress

  1. Your Fall Line is beautiful! I wish you many sales from in October from your breast cancer awareness section and from your entire shop to increase your donation to such a wonderful cause!

  2. I’m thinking of doing Breast Cancer stuff, but I’m not sure what, yet. I’m running out of time, though, aren’t I? LOL

  3. Beautiful fire necklace! * fingers twitch *

    And I feel the pain of the needles break on beads. 😛 Most aggravating thing imaginable – especially if the bead is way back in the piece. It’s annoying anywhere, but at least if it’s closer toward your last bead, it isn’t so bad. Otherwise, yeah. 😛

    I’m glad you’re still able to bead somewhat… 🙂 And I can’t wait to see you soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

