Some major changes in my life.

Ok, most of you who know me through the worlds of etsy and this jewelry blog don’t know my about my life outside of that world.  I know some of you are aware that I have health problems, but I tend not to talk about them in this setting that much other to mention sometimes when I’m not feeling good.

The short story is that I have chronic, life-threatening, asthma and severe allergies as well as a host of minor issues.  I’ve always gotten through it pretty well, but this last year has been a different story.  Simply put, my body doesn’t like living in this part of the state.  It’s been a wild battle full of doctors visits, shots, medicines, steroids, and lots of frustration and fear.

My doctors have been suggesting for awhile now that we move home.  I fought against that for a long time because this is the best college to enable me to pursue the program I wanted too.

Well, I’ve finally decided to stop fighting.  I thought by now, with all the treatments I’m going through and medicines I’m on, that I’d be doing a lot better.  I’m not.  I have been doing some better over the summer, but not enough.  And, in the last two weeks, I’ve had several really serious asthma attacks again.

So after some long talks with my husband and our parents we’ve decided to move back to the other side of the state.  We’ll be moving in the next month and I’m going to take some time off from school just to heal.

What does this mean for the jewerly/etsy world?  Several things.

1. I’m going to have to step down from my Eastern Washington Etsy team because I no longer will be living in that region.  This is tearing me up because I really love every one on that team and all that I’ve been able to be a part of to strengthen and encourage the team!  I’m sooo going to miss you guys!

2. In the next few weeks, as we get moved, life will be hectic.  I still have a week and a half of the day class that I’ve been doing and now I’m adding this one top of it.  *sigh*  I’m not going to stress too much about packing because our parents have told me they can do it all if necessary, but it does mean if I have energy I’m less likely to be working on things jewelry and etsy related and more likely to be preparing for this move.  So things will be a little crazy for me in that world for awhile…

3. I’m going to keep free shipping up in my store until we’re settled in at home because my ability to ship will be kinda erratic here for awhile.

21 responses to “Some major changes in my life.

  1. Not an easy decision to make. Take it as easy as you can.

  2. Wish you the best of luck and good health.

  3. Oh Ruthie, we’re gonna miss you too! You are such a wonderful & fun person. I can not tell you how much I enjoyed meeting you at the Ellensburg craft show. Your work is fantastic. We cna do more trades anytime you want! The team will miss you, but I’m sure we all understand our health comes first. You have to do what is best for you. Everything else, will handle the change. Please keep in touch, & I will keep you in my thoughts thru this time of upheaval while you move & get resettled. Big Hugs!!!

  4. Thank you so much Nicole! I had a ton of fun getting to know you too and I definitely plan on keeping in touch!

  5. I’m sure it was a tough decision but it sounds like the best decision for your health – which is the most important thing!

  6. I too have health problems which include MCS (multiple chemical sensitivities) along with other allergies and asthma. It certainly makes life interesting. I am sorry you are going through such a difficult time. You can’t continue the creative process if your body is so focused on trying to be healthy. I wish you all the best on this next part of your journey; and hope it provides you with what you need to live healthier.

  7. Hopefully when all is said and done you will feel much better and will be able to sigh and settle in and then your artistry can get back on the front burner. One step at a time, take care of yourself. And thank you again for the interview…I would have liked to get to know you better, but I totally understand.

  8. Sorry to hear your health has been affecting you so much. But I would love to have another Etsy neighbor! To what part of the western side are you moving? The EtsyRain street team would love to have you too!

  9. @ RGW – thank you!

    @ Nancy – we can always chat on etsy! I’ll still be around on there 🙂

    @ HBIC – I’m from Vancouver – is the EtsyRain street team all of the West side or just Seattle?

  10. oh sweetie! take care of your health – so very important. I’m sorry that you have to move – I’m sure you had a good reason for moving in the first place! But we’re all here, wherever you are!

  11. It’s pretty much all of the west side. I live too far away to join in the regular activities but they have a pretty active website. You might check out the Portland team. Much closer!

    Also, for a little light-hearted fun…I tagged you! Come see here to play http://homedeconomics.blogspot.com/

  12. I will sure miss you and having someone to do shows with. 😦 Thank you for coming and telling me in person yesterday. Take care of yourself and let’s do lunch before you leave.

  13. story – thanks!

    Jeanna – we sure will! I’m going to miss working with you 😦

  14. Wow! I sure will miss you in the thread. It is best for your health. You will still be on etsy though and we can all talk to you!

  15. Best of luck on the move. Take care of yourself & keep in touch!

  16. Hey, so sorry that you have to battle this. It will be good to have the help of your parents and good husband , even though the school thing is not turning out the way you expected. You help out the team so much. I just wanted to let you know that it’s appreciated. Thanks!
    –Paula (CutieFruity)

  17. Everyone – thanks so much for the encouragement!

  18. Hi Ruthie,

    I’m so sorry to hear of your health problems. I hope the move makes you feel better. Thanks so much for the wonderful interview.

    Tania

  19. I had no idea, I hope you are feeling better once you’re back home. And what a tough decision, but trust your gut and do what’s best for you! *HUG*

Leave a Reply

