Friday’s Featured Artist – Victorian Visions!

Roses are Red

Welcome to this week’s Featured Artist Interview with Nancy of Victorian Visions!!!  She’s a great gal and fellow member of the Eastern Washington Etsy Team 🙂  Enjoy the interview!

1. Tell us your story – what first got you started in this business?

My creativity started out of necessity but also desire. When my second daughter was born I decided to start making clothes for the girls. Then I started sewing other things besides baby clothes and dresses. I sewed my son’s dress pants, the girls’ dresses, baby layettes and more. Then I took a class on applique and really starting my crafty sewing at that time. From that came ventures in every kind of medium that came along. I continued to craft from necessity in that we had a lot of birthdays in our families, and Christmas brought long lists. So I made all kinds of things for all kinds of people. I’ve done tole painting, ceramics, crafty sewing of quilts, blankets, etc., oil painting, rubber stamping, scrapbooking, etc., etc.

2. Looking at your shop, you do a lot of items from vintage to handmade! What exactly DO you sell in your shop?

The one item I have sold the most of is greeting cards. At one time I had over 1,000 rubber stamps and sold rubber stamps on the side – I was working at the time. Then we bought a flower shop and my life was turned upside down. I worked at least 16 hours a day, every day, so there was no room for any crafts but I was creative in the designs and items I made at my shop. I sold the rubber stamps after a few years of non-use.

Other things I sell: I’ve been making wind chimes and have sold all but one set that I made this summer. I’m always on the lookout for things to use in constructing the wind chimes. I sell anything I make, and I love to shop at second hand stores and thrift shops so I sell some vintage items and I do use some of the things I find to make something new, a kind of recycling.  I am a scavenger…dumpster diving and such is not distasteful to me. When I shop as such, I zone in on what I am looking at, looking at all sides, feeling it, imagining what it can be used for, or who could use it (if it is clothing).  I have a ton of siblings and grandchildren so I’m always keeping my eyes open for a bargain that would end up with someone else.

3. Do you make any other crafts?

In addition to making the greeting cards, I make wind chimes, collages, ACEOs or ATCs, remake pieces of jewelry and whatever pops into my head. I keep notebooks of sketches and ideas that I want to try “someday.”

4. What’s your favorite piece you have up on etsy right now?

My favorite piece on Etsy right now…hmmm…I know this sounds silly but I love it all! The items I sell are diverse so I can’t really say that I have one favorite genre or medium but *** I do think I like the purse I decorated into wall art and I’ve been wanting to make more I just haven’t had the time this summer. I have lots of supplies and a stack of purses waiting, though!

5. Where do you do your work and what do you watch or listen to while you work?

I became disabled after the flower shop and had to quit working. Then we moved to a smaller home that took much less care for me, and for hubby, who had to help me. So, in our small home we have a room that we don’t know what to call. It has the desk, bookshelves and all of my craft and art supplies. It’s a mess. I work in there or I go to the dining table or sometimes I do some of the work in front of the t.v.  if it is lap work. If I am in the room with no name, I listen to oldies music or turn the t.v. on and watch some crime solving show. Oldies music is the best though to get me going and enthused.

6. Tell us one interesting fact about yourself 🙂

An interesting fact about me. I am mother to 6, grandmother to 13, oldest sister to 13. I love to try new things. I have my own blog which I call MY BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAHG!

I started selling on Etsy this year, in February I believe, even though I signed up about a year ago. I was not feeling good about the auction site selling because we are “retired” and do travel to the coast a lot so it was hard to judge when we’d be home and if we’d be home when the auction ended. I LOVE ETSY and I tell everyone I meet all about it! I’ve purchased many wonderful items – more than I’ve sold!! But the more people that know about Etsy, the better for all of us! I love browsing the Treasuries, it’s quite fun. I don’t think I’ve ever had an item in a Treasury but I don’t know how to find out. I have had a few Treasuries that I curated and that was fun!!

Now for a few of my favorite pieces from Nancy’s shop!

Bald is Beautiful

What a wonderful piece to raise awareness about breast cancer!

Who doesn’t love the Beach?

And since I’m a sucker for owls

4 responses to “Friday’s Featured Artist – Victorian Visions!

  1. Thank you Ruthie! Very nice, I appreciate it so much!! I’ve added your blog to my favorite blog list. Have a great weekend!
    Nancy or nanalee on Etsy

  2. Victoria has some really diverse things. After talking about windchimes, she reminded me of some old projects I started…

  3. A woman after my own heart. Dumpster diving is daBomb!

    Beautiful creations.

    ~Lily

Leave a Reply

