Friday’s Featured Artist – StudioCherie!

Welcome to this week’s artist interview with StudioCherie!  I hope you have as much fun getting to know this artist as I did!

1. Tell us your story…what first got you sewing…and then what got you interested in making the gorgeous bags you make?

I used to watch my mom sew. When I was 5, I started taking her scraps and turning them into clothes for my barbie. I dreamed of being a fashion designer. I remember trying on a pair of gauchos at Nordstrom in the Collectors Department. That pair of pants fascinated me. They had the coolest dart that ran from the knee to the hem. I found some beautiful tweed fabric and made myself a pair. They were my favorite piece of clothing for several years. Another favorite was a skirt I made out of chintz – sometimes I liked my sense of humor to show through in my clothing.

My first bag was a pair of levi’s cutoffs that had frayed too short to wear. I was 16. When I was 19, I fell in love with Carlos Falchi – not the man – his bags. I couldn’t afford the bag I really wanted – it was $1200, so I bought a small pouch of his for $450. I hope someone feels that way about my bags someday.

Actually, I made furniture for a few years before I started making bags seriously. I find that all of my sewing experience comes together in bags, and that’s why I’ll keep doing them. From dressing myself to covering an antique chair and quilting, it all comes in to play in my bags.

2. Do you make any other crafts?

I also enjoy drawing and photography. I wrote a book for my nephew for his 13th birthday, illustrated it and stitched it together by hand. That is something I will do more of one of these days.

3. What are some of your favorite pieces you have up on etsy right now?

Laura’s Luggage, both the bag and the pattern are my favorite things in my shop right now. It is a more advanced pattern, and I feel a little out on the edge publishing it, but I think it will be a good test to see whether accomplished seamstresses are looking for quality original patterns. The bag itself is a real beauty and will appeal to women who love the shabby chic style with emphasis on the chic and a need for quality.

Lauras Luggage in Rose

4. Where do you do your work and what do you watch or listen to while you work?

I have a studio in my home. I listen to my kids while I work. When we turn on music, its something like Gypsy Kings or Buena Vista Social Club. I like listening to lyrics I don’t completely understand. That way, I don’t get distracted and can stay in the creative mode.

5. Your shop announcement mentions that your work is out there in boutiques…what was it like getting that process started? Do you have any advice for artists that are looking to get their work out there in stores?

As far as the boutiques go, it’s all about relationships. If you have time to maintain your creativity and production and keep up on relationships with shops, go for it. You have to be able to juggle it all to make it work. First, you have to make a product that will sell. Then you have to sell it. Then you have to keep making products that will sell. I am hoping to find some people on Etsy that will take some of my designs that sell well, like the changing pad/bag, and go into production with them – paying me a small licensing fee of course. I am looking to concentrate my efforts in my strongest area – design – and help those who are good at production make money from it.

6. Tell the readers one random and fun fact about yourself 🙂

I did improv comedy professionally for a few years, and I always dreamed of hosting SNL.

And, of course, here are a few of my favorite pieces from StudioCherie‘s shop!

I love Dragons and I love Messenger Bags!

So how could I help falling in love with this bag?

This Button Purse is just to adorable (as is her daughter!)

Ever want to try making one of these yourself?

StudioCherie even sells some patterns!

4 responses to “Friday’s Featured Artist – StudioCherie!

  1. Oof – I love the dragon messenger bag too – I’ve been looking for something like that for ages… And she had me hooked by calling it the “Worm” bag or “Bilbo’s Bag” – those are two requirements for my purse/bag – that it can carry notebooks and books. Because I read and write. 😀

  2. I know! I love it! If I was rich I would SO buy it!

  3. Great interview! Cherie is a fantastic seamstress and an all around good person. What an asset to have on the Eastern Washington Etsy Team. Thank you Cherie for the info, and that you Ruthie for publishing these wonderful interviews!

  4. neat looking bags – and ALL sizes!

Leave a Reply

