A villanelle

Ok – so I’m taking a creative writing class this summer. Our assignment for today was to write a poem on one of three formats.  I chose the villanelle – because it just formed the easiest in my head!  It has as a strict repetative pattern – as you shall see!  I’m posting it here because, well, it’s appropriate 😛

I take my needle and thread, and string on a bead,
The pattern forms as my hands go flying,
I must create, it’s an obsessive need.

I pick up a new pattern and start to read,
I want to try it, I’m not lying,
I take my needle and thread, and string on a bead,

An idea forms in my head – a tiny seed,
“Make me!” its voice seems to be crying,
I must create, it’s an obsessive need.

“There’s other things to do,” the thought grows like a weed,
But to stop here would leave my fingers aching and crying,
I take my needle and thread, and string on a bead.

I pick up my text book and try to read,
But soon I realize there’s no use in trying,
I must create, it’s an obsessive need.

Whether it’s in my thought, or word, or deed,
It’s a compulsion there’s no use denying,
I take my needle and thread, and string on a bead.
I must create, it’s an obsessive need.

6 responses to “A villanelle

  1. Feeling the obsessive need with you Ruthie!

    You write beautifully.

    ~Lily

  2. I love it… 🙂 The repetition is fun and hypnotic, in a way. Nice job!

  3. Yeah! *dances* The English Major approves!

  4. have fun – good sale idea.
    take lots of pictures! {:-Deb

Leave a Reply

