Friday’s Featured Seller – TheChainMailleLady

Every Friday this blog will feature an interview with an etsy artist whose work I enjoy! If your interested in being featured in one of my interviews, just send me a message!

Today’s artist is Lauren, of TheChainMailleLady 🙂 Lauren does incredible work and I’ve had a lot of fun getting to know her and swapping etsy ideas over the last few weeks! So I thought I’d find out more about her, and then share it with you, my readers 🙂

1. Tell us your story; what first got you started working with Chain Maille?

Before 2006 I had never heard of chainmaille. Then one day I was watching a jewelry show on the DIY channel and the guest was a girl named “Spider”. She was demonstrating how to make a chainmaille bracelet called the Japanese 12 in 2 weave and right then and there I was hooked! I went to Spider’s website and she had two DVD’s demonstrating how to make chainmaille. I bought both DVD’s and quickly taught myself the “art of weaving silver” as I like to call it.

This is an example of the first style of bracelet that Lauren learned how to do. Click here to see it in her shop!

2. Do you do any other crafts?

I have been pretty crafty all my life. My mom was extremely crafty, she was always creating something, paper mache’, painting, throwing pots, and macramé.. My mom and I each entered a collage in the local craft fair and I took home first prize and mom took home second! I think it had something to do with me being a kid : ). At our local park they were always giving free classes in knitting, crocheting, and various other crafts and mom made sure I attended all of them. So ultimately I have “many talents”. I knit, crochet, cross stitch, Swedish weave, bobbin lace, needlepoint, and hardanger. In 2003 I entered two items I had made, a Swedish weave blanket and a hardanger wall hanging into the L.A. County Fair. The blanket won third place and the hardanger won first!

3. What’s your favorite part of being in the Covina Crafters Fair and Farmers Market? What’s the hardest part?

My favorite part of being in the Covina Crafters Fair is meeting new people. The people who visit my booth (and buy my creations) are so kind. They always say such nice things about my jewelry. I love to demonstrate how I make my chainmaille jewelry. Most people have never heard of chainmaille.

The worst part of the Fair is setting up and breaking down the booth. I have to meticulously unpack and pack my sterling silver and other jewelry. The pop up tent is somewhat simple but heavy!!

4. What are some of your favorite pieces you have up on etsy right now?

I think my favorite piece is my Dragonscale bracelet. It is so beautiful. It takes a long time to make but is worth the effort. It is so fluid and flexible, and feels nice on your wrist. The pictures don’t do it justice. At the Fair people are amazed at how it is made just using jump rings! I show them a sample piece that I am in the process of making and also the jump rings I use to make it.

My other favorite piece is my latest creation the “centipede bracelet”. It turned out much better than I expected. My husband and I were trying to come up with a name for the piece and I thought that it looked like a picture of a centipede I had found on the internet.

5. Where do you do your work?

I do most of my work in my living room in front of the TV. However, I have a whole room just for my craft stuff. And believe me I have stuff!! I have so much stuff I feel claustrophobic in my room which is why I do my “production” work in the living room. Also, it is nice to spend time with my honey!!

6. Tell the readers one random, fun, thing about yourself 🙂

I am somewhat of a daredevil. At the County Fair a couple of years ago I bungee jumped for the first time and am now hooked. I also intend to skydive too before I die!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Now for a few of my own favorite pieces in her shop!

Those of you who know me well won’t even have to think twice about why this piece is one of my favorites! (Hint: the color purple)

I also love the brilliant colors used in this piece. What’s even better is that it’s currently on sale through June 20th! You should jump on this opportunity folks. 😀

8 responses to “Friday’s Featured Seller – TheChainMailleLady

  1. Let me be the first to say….you are a wonderful human being!!…well, maybe not the first and certainly not the last!! You should submit this article to the Etsy Storque. Then we’ld both be “famous” ;). Seriously, thank you so much and I am extreamly honored!!

  2. OOO…I’ll have to try that! It would be good exposure 😀

    And your welcome 🙂

  3. What an incredible artist. This is a fantastic feature!

  4. What a great way to get to know your fellow artists better! I love it… I’d love to be in one of your interviews if you are interested in what I do. You can see my etsy shop at http://www.heartcollective.etsy.com
    I’m also in the California Crafter’s Club of Etsy with Lauren The Chainmaille Lady!
    xoxo
    jul

  5. Wonderful artist. Great person. This is a great article. I wish her much good fortune. So talented.

  6. The other day when while looking for new things to create I found a book on this very topic written by Scott David Plumlee, called Handcrafting Chain and Bead Jewelry. Excellent step-by-step instruction. Your feature artist is spectacular! ^i^

  7. Pingback: Friday’s Featured Artist - leathermadenice « A Peek into the Magic of Creating

  8. Thank you all for your wonderful comments about my work. I so enjoy weaving silver into chainmaille!

Leave a Reply

